top of page
Search
Writer's picture1000huts

Mapping hut sites in Scotland: Locations and opportunities

In another exciting step forward for the 1000 Huts campaign a new, interactive Google-based map has recently been published online showing the locations of huts and hutting sites around Scotland. The map builds on work carried out by author, long-time hutter and 1000 Huts supporter Leslie Riddoch, who transferred the 1999 Hut Survey carried out by Hugh Gentleman to Google Maps in 2012. The new map brings together Hugh Gentleman’s work and shows many new and emerging hut sites around the country.

We are passionate about helping people discover more about huts and hut culture in Scotland! If you have a hut, know of any huts, want to build your own, or have land for huts then let us know at huts@reforestingscotland.org






1 comment

1 Comment


pigmypiggles
Feb 13, 2021

Hi Hutting communities all over Bonnie Scotland,

I have just returned to the UK after living for 30 odd years in Portugal in my own off-grid wooden homes. I am a cabinet maker with much experience in restoration and am looking to buy/lease land on which to build or renovate a hut to live in. Playing a part in reinstating the Caledonian pine forests would be an honour and I would love to be involved in any way I can. If there are any run-down huts for sale or lease, I would be interested and, if anyone knows of a place I can volunteer my skills, I could help on a voluntary basis to get a better idea of the…


Like
bottom of page